Committee on the Cardinal Spellman Award (July 2, 1947)

Report of Chairman

It was decided at the first annual meeting in New York that each year the Society would make an award for outstanding work in the science of Sacred Theology. To implement this purpose Father Connell appointed a committee including Fr. John Haran, S.J., of Weston College, Fr. Louis Cunney of St. John's Seminary, Brighton, Fr. Martin Healy of Immaculate Conception Seminary, Huntington, and Fr. James Rea of St. Joseph's Seminary, Dunwoodie. The purpose of the award is to encourage scientific work in Sacred Theology. Francis Cardinal Spellman, Archbishop of New York, has graciously allowed the Society to give his name to the award and has generously contributed a sum of one hundred dollars toward it.

The committee has chosen to limit this first award to present members of the Society and to extend it to recent theological work, not necessarily accomplished in the past year. It was thought that this policy would be a proper one for the first award to be given by the Society. In our deliberations we discovered it to be impossible to single out any one particular man for this honor. And, surveying the field, we realized that there were many who have a real claim to our recognition.

Consequently, we are proposing for the award five names in the full realization that there are others who might also be legitimately named. To these five jointly we propose to present the first of the Cardinal Spellman Awards. We are confident that the Society will concur with regard to these five. Their merit is, and has been, universally recognized. And they have been specifically chosen, because together they represent five different but cohesive approaches to theology and because they constitute a cross-section of the American theological teaching corps. The names:

Dr. Francis J. Connell, C.SS.R., of the Catholic University. Dr. Immanuel Doronzo, O.M.I., of the Catholic University.

Dr. Gerard Yelle, of the University of Montreal.

Dr. J. Courtney Murray, S.J., of Woodstock College.

Dr. William R. O'Connor, of St. Joseph's Seminary, Dunwoodie.

These names are herewith proposed by your committee for the reception of the first Cardinal Spellman Award for Sacred Theology.

Rev. James Rea, Chairman.