# CTSA FIRSTS

## <u>1946</u>

Resolution to found

First meeting

Meeting in New York at the invitation of Archbishop Francis Spellman, St. Paul's Parish House, 27 January 1946. Rev. Eugene M. Burke, C.S.P., moved: "That it is the sense of this meeting that there be formed a Catholic theological association for America." Father Bluett seconded the motion, which was then passed without objection by 38 priests present.

Hotel Commodore, New York City, 25-26 June 1946

Charter members	104, of whom seven reside in Canada, two in Rome
Dues	Active members: \$5.00 per year
	Associate members: \$3.00 per year
President	Dr. Francis J. Connell, C.SS.R.
Vice president	Dr. Gerard Yell, S.S.
Secretary	Dr. Joseph Clifford Fenton
Treasurer	Dr. James Edward Rea

**Board of directors** 

Dr. Joseph M. Quigley Dr. John Courtney Murray, S.J. Dr. William R. O'Connor Dr. David Baier, O.F.M. Dr. Thomas Owen Martin Dr. Richard T. Doherty

First papers "The Wisdom of Theology," Dr. William R. O'Connor, St. Joseph's Seminary, Dunwoodie, New York "The Catholic Doctrine of the Ends of Marriage," Dr. Francis J. Connell, C.SS.R., Catholic University of America "The Theological Significance of the Encyclical *Mystici Corporis*," Dr. J. Joseph Bluett, S.J., Wood-stock College

Issues to be discussed	<ol> <li>An Authoritative Church in a Democracy</li> <li>Moral Problems of Total War</li> <li>Is the Right to Strike Absolute?</li> <li>Catholic Action in the United States</li> <li>Natural Motives and the Supernatural Life</li> <li>The Principles of Extra-Sacramental Justification</li> </ol>
First Corporate Act	Mass of the Holy Ghost, Lady Chapel of St. Patrick's Cathedral, the Most Rev. William Tiburtus McCarty, C.SS.R., offered the Mass. Francis Cardinal Spellman presided, and, after the Mass, welcomed the members individually.
First public utterance	Petition to the Holy Father That the Doctrine of Our Lady's Assumption into Heaven Be Defined as a Dogma of Divine Faith

### 1947

First member to die Hugh William Radigan, O.F.M.

Honorary life member Most Rev. John J. Wright, auxiliary bishop of Boston (later bishop of Worcester, Massachusetts, bishop of Pittsburgh, and cardinal prefect of the Congregation of Clergy

> New members 49 applicants for active membership three for associate membership (Two applicants were rejected, one a woman, one a seminarian. Their names are unknown.)

## <u>1951</u>

Gift to the pope A set of *Proceedings* was sent to Pope Pius XII. It was bound in white leather and stamped in gold with the papal coat of arms.

CTSA 50th Anniversary Commemorative Section

### 1953

# Noncleric member Brother Luke Salm, C.S.C.

# 1962

Protestants at convention

Guests of Bishop Wright of Pittsburgh, host bishop

Protestant speaker

Jaroslav Pelikan: "The Protestant Concept of the Church"

### 1963

European speaker Bernard Haring, C.SS.R.

Dues hike

Raised from \$5.00 to \$6.00

Formal resolution

M

Resolved: The officers and members of the Catholic Theological Society of America assembled in convention in St. Louis, Missouri, hereby go on record as approving President Kennedy's declaration that segregation is a moral issue and not solely cultural, social, and economic, and as urging all men of good mind and good will to cooperate in every way possible to resolve the present situation.

# 1964

Protestant guests of CTSA	Cyril Richardson, dean, Union Theological Seminary Roger Shin, Union Theological Seminary Paul Minear, Yale Divinity School John Krumen, chaplain, Columbia University
Jewish speaker	Rabbi Abraham Heschel, discussion leader
Orthodox speaker	Rev. John Meyendorff, discussion leader
Aembership change	Membership no longer restricted to priests and broth- ers. Now open to all professionally competent in Sacred Theology.

### CTSA Proceedings 50 / 1995

### <u>1965</u>

Women members	Miss Elizabeth Jane Farians Miss Cathleen M. Going	
Laymen members	Mr. Hamilton Hess Dr. Petro B. T. Bilaniuk Mr. Alfred F. Corbo	
Coumenical exchange during convention	Arranged by Rev. Francis Gaydos, C.M. Presenters were Dr. Robert McAfee Brown of Stanford Universi- ty and Father Daniel O'Hanlon, S.J., of Alma Col- lege. Held in the ballroom of the Brown Palace Hotel,	

#### 1966

Interfaith exchange during convention Rabbi Marc H. Tannenbaum, the American Jewish Committee, "A Jewish Reaction to Catholic Positions in Vatican II," and Rev. Edward H. Flannery, editor of the *Providence Visitor*, "The Church, the Synagogue, and the Ecumenical Movement"

Denver, it attracted more than 1,000 people.

Woman denied admission to convention reception and banquet

Mary Daly (see Ann E. Patrick's presidential address, CTSA *Proceedings* 45 [1990] 45; Patrick notes [45n.5] that "Daly's account of the 1966 incident is found in the second edition of *The Church and the Second Sex* [New York: Harper & Row, 1975] 141-42")

Woman admitted Elizabeth Farians (letter of Charles Curran to Robert to banquet Wister, 14 October 1992)

### 1968

Spellman award to layman	Dr. Martin R. P. McGuire
Woman on committee	Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M., and Sr. Jane Stier, O.S.U., committee on admissions
Protestant member	Dr. Arthur C. Cochrane (see Luke Salm's presidental address in CTSA <i>Proceedings</i> 30 [1975] 247)

E

#### 1969

Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M.

Woman on board of directors

Woman to address convention Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M.: "The Role of Woman in Church and Society"

Bishop to deliver convention paper

Most Rev. John R. Quinn, auxiliary bishop of San Diego (later bishop of Oklahoma City-Tulsa; archbishop of Oklahoma City; archbishop of San Francisco)

#### <u>1970</u>

Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M.

Woman secretary

Brother on board Br. Luke Salm, F.S.C.

#### 1972

New award for theological achievement

of directors

Board of directors resolution adopted at the 1972 meeting: "Reminding the Society that in the past few years we have made concerted efforts to emphasize the peculiar American contribution to theology, the board voted unanimously for the establishment of the John Courtney Murray Award for distinguished achievement in theology. This title will in the future designate what was previously the Cardinal Spellman Award. The change of name implies no lack of recognition or gratitude on the part of the Society for the support and encouragement which it received from Cardinal Spellman. It aims, rather, at bringing the award closer in name to the ideals which the cardinal sought to foster and which he honored and recognized in John Courtney Murray. For Father Murray, as a North American theologian and loyal churchman, represented in his work things for which this Society stands, particularly in the contribution he made to the universal Church in the Second Vatican Council"

J. C. Murray Award Charles Curran

No "nihil obstat" Proceedings without "with ecclesiastical permission"

<u>1974</u>

Nonordained president Bro. Luke Salm, F.S.C.

<u>1975</u>

Layman on board Francis Schüssler Fiorenza of directors

1976

Woman vice president Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M.

1977

Woman president Sr. Agnes Cunningham, S.S.C.M.

<u>1984</u>

Woman recipient Monika K. Hellwig of Murray Award

## <u>1985</u>

Layman president Francis Schüssler Fiorenza

### 1988

Bishop recipient Most Rev. Richard J. Sklba, of Murray Award auxiliary bishop of Milwaukee

> Compiled by ROBERT J. WISTER CTSA Archivist Seton Hall University